Must Try Food in Georgia

Georgian Food

In every travel I make, I always want to explore the different kinds of food that a particular place has to offer.  Georgia is no exception.

Since I have some problems with my stomach, I am always hesitant to try streetfoods or uncooked food.  However, while I was in Georgia I realised that I should always take the risk and taste new food. 😉

I can actually say that I truly enjoy Georgia not just because i=of its natural beauty but also because of the delicious food that I’ve tasted.. Mind you, they’re not jus delicious – they’re also very affordable. 😀

Here are some of the Must-Try Food in Georgia:

Khachapuri

Kachapuri

Khachapuri is a traditional Georgian dish of cheese-filled bread. The bread is leavened and allowed to rise, and is shaped in various ways, usually with cheese in the middle and a crust which is ripped off and used to dip in the cheese. The filling contains cheese (fresh or aged, most commonly sulguni), eggs and other ingredients. It is Georgia’s national dish.

According to a 2009 survey, 88% of Georgians prefer khachapuri to pizza. It is more popular among men and older people.

I had my first Khachapuri during our Gudauri tour.  We had our lunch there before doing the paragliding.  The cheese in this Khachapuri is heaven… We ordered 1 serving of Khachapuri for 15 gel and we divided it into 3 servings for 3 people.

 

Churchkhela

Churchkhela

Churchkhela is a traditional Georgian candle-shaped candy. The main ingredients are grape must, nuts and flour. Almonds, walnuts, hazel nuts and sometimes raisins are threaded onto a string, dipped in thickened grape juice or fruit juices and dried in the shape of a sausage.

I was hesitant to try this because of its looks.  It looks like chicken intestine and soft.  Our tour guide took time to convince me by saying that this is all natural and made of fruits.  The lady selling it offered a free taste.  (I think most of the stores in Georgia selling food offer free taste.)  I immediately fell in love with Churchkhela.  The fruit taste.. the nuts…  mmmm. yum yum yum… I want to eat churchkhela now. ahhhhhh….

Churchkhela Store

Because I really love Churchkhela, I even requested the vendor to have a photo taken with me.  😉  This is my second fave food in Georgia.

Mtsvadi

Mtsvadi

Mtsvadi is a dish of skewered and grilled cubes of meat. It’s like Georgian Barbecue. This is probably my favorite dish in Georgia.  I really like how they cooked it perfectly.  The tenderness of the meat and the taste…mmmm yum!

Tklapi

Tklapi

Tklapi

Tklapi is a traditional Georgian puréed fruit roll-up leather. It is spread thinly onto a sheet and sun-dried on a clothesline. It can be sour or sweet. The sour version is made of Tkemali plums, which are often used for soups and stews, mostly with Kharcho. Sweet Tklapi is made of apricots or peaches. It can also be prepared by the juice that is used in making Churchkhela.

I didn’t buy Tklapi because I love Churchkhela more.  I tried it because of the free taste that the vendor is offering.  It’s like Churchkhela minus the nuts and in a different shape. 😉

Fruits

Fruits in Georgia

 

Georgia is gifted with lots of fruits that grow in the region.  The most ommon fruits grown in Georgia are Apples, apricots, cherries, figs, grapes, muscadines, kiwi, nectarines, peaches, pears, persimmons, plums, pomegranates, citrus fruits, blackberries, raspberries, blueberries, strawberries, cantaloupes, honeydew melons, and watermelons.   With these kinds  of fruits available, it is just normal to see them being displayed on the streets and being sold.

Softdrinks – Lemonade (Natakhtari)

Georgian Lemonade

While we were having lunch at Gudauri, I was looking for something to drink that is not water.  I wanted to try something new.  Our tour guide said to tell the waitress – “Lemonade”.   I thought it was really a lemonade.  However, she gave me a bottle of Natakhtari.  It was actually quite good.

According to Natakhtari.com:

Natakhtari Lemonade is on Georgian Market since 2005. It gained great approval and love in consumers and is one of the most popular fresh drink in Georgia. Lemonade is a traditional product, that is unchangeable attribute of Georgian table (sufra).

Natakhtari Lemonade is a tasty fresh drink, produced by the best water. It isstable and unchangeable high quality Georgian brand.Natakhtari Lemonade has reached other markets (not only Georgia) and since 2005 it is being exported in several countries.Export is stable in 19 countries, they are: Armenia, Azerbaijan,Austria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, China, Germany, Greece, Iran, Israel, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and the USA.Since 2010, Company introduced Zero calorie Lemonade with pear aroma, that is sugar free. Sugar free Pear Lemonade, with unique taste, is created for diet nutrition consumers.

Natakhtari Lemonade is presented in variety of aromas:Tarragon, Orange, Cream, Saperavi, Pear, Lemon, Apple, Raspberries, Barberries, Lemon with Mint, Cream and Chocolate, White Grape, Feijoa and Peach. Ingredients: Water, Sugar (In Zero Calorie- Sugar Substitute – Multisweet, calorie – 0 kcal/100g), Natural Aroma, Natrium Benzoat.
Calorie – 45 kcal/100g

Cakes, cookies & other sweets at Sapore

Cakes at Sapore

Sapore Cafe

 

While walking along the streets of Tbilisi, we came across this cafe called “Sapore“.  When we entered, we were welcomed by smiling Georgian women who offered us free taste of delicious looking cookies.  They just don’t look delicious, they really taste delicious as well.  Me and my friends decided to buy a box of them as gifts to our friends when we get back home.  I gave mine to my colleagues. 😉

I noticed that Georgian desserts don’t taste really sweet.  The sweetness is very mild and is something I am not used to in a dessert.  However, you’d learn to appreciate the taste of the other ingredients.  That’s why I recommend that you visit their shop when you go to Georgia. The cookies are to die for.

Sapore Cafe

Look at those cookies! You can ask the ladies for a free taste.  When you buy a box, you can have them mixed of different varieties. I enjoyed choosing the cookies. 😀

I hope you enjoyed the above list and I really recommend that you try every single one of them.   There are still a lot of different food / drinks in Georgia that you should try and I will as well.

I look forward to going back to Georgia and try the other food/dish that I haven’t tried.

2 thoughts on “Must Try Food in Georgia

  1. Fun travel food exploration! I save my money on travel when it comes to food, unless it’s travel food then I can wipe my wallet clean. 🙂 The candle-shaped candy is very interesting.

Leave a Reply

