Traveller vs. Traveler

Which spelling is correct? Traveller or Traveler?

Well, according to my sources online both are correct.

If you check thefreedictionary.com you will find both words there.

trav·el·er or trav·el·ler  (trvl-r, trvlr)

.

n.

1. One who travels or has traveled, as to distant places.
2. often traveller Chiefly British

a. A traveling salesperson.
b. A member of any of various groups of traditionally itinerate people living especially in Scotland and Ireland.
3. Nautical

a. A metal ring that moves freely back and forth on a rope, rod, or spar.
b. The rope, rod, or spar on which such a ring moves.
.
.
traveller (ˈtrævələ; ˈtrævləor traveler

n

1. a person who travels, esp habitually
2. (Commerce) See travelling salesman
3. (Peoples) (sometimes capital) a member of the travelling people
4. (Mechanical Engineering) a part of a mechanism that moves in a fixed course
5. (Nautical Terms) nautical

a. a thimble fitted to slide freely on a rope, spar, or rod
b. the fixed rod on which such a thimble slides
6. Austral a swagman
.
.
You can also check merriam.com and you’d see that traveller is a variant of traveler.
.
.
But the best explanation is found on seetheglobe.com
“As it turns out, both are proper. Traveler is used in the USA and Traveller in the UK. So it does not matter what you are, a traveler or a traveller, just go out there and travel … or something like that ….:!:”
.
.
Anyway, it’s not that I hate the US version but I’ve been using traveller since I was young.  I just get annoyed everytime the I get a spelling warning from wordpress or word.  You can just imagine how many red lines appear now on my screen. hahaha
.
.
Good Night from the Philippines… 10:54PM

3 thoughts on “Traveller vs. Traveler

      • hey JazperJay – I also wanted to say that I really like how you broke down the word usage (so well done) and I hate those red lines I get when I am trying to just use fun slangy terms – like “fo sho”
        I am also getting ready to take a summer break so wanted to say have a nice summer my blogging friend – and I look forward to connecting again in fall. even though so many of your posts make me want to eat or get into my car to find a cool coffee shop. just kidding – but I love the variety you give us and the street and social posts are some of my favs.❤

Leave a Reply

