Typhon YOLANDA made us STRONGER

Typhoon HaiyanYesterday, the strongest typhoon in the world hit the Philippines and devastated a lot of towns and cities.   I am from Davao City and I am just lucky not to be able to experience the wrath of Yolanda.  As of yesterday, Signal No. 4 was up over Masbate, Ticao Island, southern Sorsogon, Romblon, Northern Samar, Eastern Samar, Samar, Leyte, Southern Leyte, Biliran, northern Cebu, Cebu City, Bantayan and Camotes Islands, northern Negros Occidental, Capiz, Aklan, Antique, Iloilo and Guimaras.

We had a very fine weather here in Davao Yesterday.  It was very cloudy yet you can see the sun’s light trying to over power the clouds.   Even though Davao was not included in the list of cities that was about to be hit by the typhoon; our city mayor ordered the removal of all billboards in the city.  Some schools suspended their classes as well.  It’s better to be safe than sorry.

A day before the landing of Yolanda (November 7) I was supposed to go to Cebu city to visit my friends and the following day (November 8 – yesterday) I was supposed to go to HongKong for a vacation.  I went to the airport between 4pm – 5pm to check if my flight was cancelled.  I was first told that there is no advisory of  any cancellation of flights.  I was very happy coz’ I was also excited to visit Cebu since it’s my second home.  When I checked in I was told by the lady that our flight was delayed to 9:30PM.  It was fine with me as long as the trip will still continue. However, the delayed has been moved to 10pm; 11pm then 1130pm.  At around 10pm the lady who kept on announcing the changes of scheduled flights told us that the flight has been officially cancelled.  I felt sad but I know it’s for the best.  Philippine Airlines offered a free rebooking of my flights.  My flight to Hongkong was also cancelled by Cebu Pacific and they also offered a free rebooking.

I already rebooked all my flights and I am hoping that I’d be able to go to Cebu and Hongkong this coming Monday and Tuesday respectively.

I lived in Cebu for three years that’s why I have lots of friends there.  During the typhoon yesterday, I kept on checking my FB to know what was going on.  Thankfully no one got hurt.  My friends are all right and they survived the strongest typhoon this year.  All of them said that the typhoon was really scary.  Most of them feared their safety coz’ the typhoon signal was raised to Signal #4 in Cebu.  But God loves us all, He will never let anyone suffer as long as we have faith on Him.

I am glad that people have learned to prepare and pray.  Seeing people post different prayers on facebook is uplifting.  In times like this we all rely on GOD.  It doesn’t matter anymore if you are an Islam, Jehovah, Christian, Born Again etc. as long as you have faith and you believe in your God.  People were united yesterday.

We may be a third world country but we have the strongest spirit in the world.  Like I said in my post yesterday: “YOLANDA may be the STRONGEST typhoon but NO ONE is STRONGER than OUR GOD!”

This typhoon is just one of the many typhoons we have survived and we will survive.  This typhoon proved one thing – we Filipinos are the strongest in the world.  God loves us so much that He wants us to be stronger everyday.   To those who have weak faith, I wonder what will happen to them if a strong typhoon like Yolanda would hit them.  That’s why this post from a CNN user touched my heart and moved me to tears this morning:

It was indeed a privilege meeting you YOLANDA yesterday!  You came but you NEVER broke our SPIRITS.  We SURVIVED!

One thought on “Typhon YOLANDA made us STRONGER

  1. Pingback: Aftermath: Typhoon Yolanda, Philippines | Silver Wonderland

Leave a Reply

