After Earth

After-Earth-international-posterSince today is Saturday and I have no work tomorrow I decided to watch a movie. ALONE! So I went to SM City Davao and watched “After Earth”. This movie stars Will and Jaden Smith and directed by M. Night Shyamalan. I had high expectations before watching the movie but it failed me.

The movie seemed nice but it was really boring! Will Smith is a great actor but his talent was just put to waste when he was left in the space ship and be seated infront of the computer and assist Jaden thru the wrist communicator. I thought Jaden was lovable especially when I watched The Karate Kid but this time he was really annoying on screen. I am not sure if it was his character ~ Kitai Raige or his acting skills really bother me. I think Will just want Jaden to shine in this film but eventhough Will wasn’t doing so much he was still able to overshine Jaden’s acting skills.

I also think Jaden should undergo more acting workshops. He was annoying as hell when he shouted and I don’t like the sound of his voice. lol
The storyline of the movie is actually nice and has a lot of potentials but it seems like the director/producers didn’t utilize this properly. They could have added more exciting scenes and deleted the running and jumping scenes. However, there were also great moments in the movie. I love that scene when the Eagle saved Jaden but again Jaden went blank. He didn’t have the appropriate emotion in every scene opposite to will who was oozing with emotions! A single stare is more than enough with Will. I just love him. He is one of my favorite hollywood actors who can act!
When we watch a movie, we should always be entertained but this movie almost made me sleep. The movie was just made up of different scenes but somehow lack the story. We don’t know how originally the Earth got destroyed, how did the animals evolve, why did Jaden need a breathing capsule when the animals and Ursa can perfectly breath the air. I also don’t like how their spaceship looked like inside. It was so obvious that that was not a space ship. They could have designed a different space ship. It’s 2013 and we can now make extraordinary things with the use of special effects but again they didn’t utilize what they have!
My final question: What happened to M. Night Shyamalan? He used to be my favorite director/writer.

after-earth-new-trailer-gets-emotionally-unpredictable

My rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

