Vice Ganda vs Jessica Soho

Since it has become a NATIONAL ISSUE I am now writing about Vice Ganda & Jessica Soho.

This issue started coz’ of a joke cracked by Vice during his/her concert about Jessica.  I think he/she just used the wrong person.  Jessica is not doing anything wrong and is only doing her job. She even gave us recognition with her awards here and abroad.  Jessica is a symbol of what a broadcast journalist should be.  And therefore should not be making fun of! She is GMA 7’s Vice President for News and Public Affair.  She helps people around the country and why oh why would Vice do this to her?

I’m not a fan of Vice but I sometimes watch her/his shows but now I will definitely not watch any of her/his shows.  She/He never got my respect and now has completely lost the chance of getting it.😉

What was the joke?

Vice named Jessica Soho as one of the famous personalities who would be preposterous in sexy roles. Jessica would debut in a movie entitled “Tinimbang Ka Ngunit Sobra,” Vice said, a reference to popular Filipino film “Tinimbang Ka Ngunit Kulang (You were judged but you fell short).”
But Vice Ganda apparently meant “weigh” when he used the word “timbang.” This was evident in his next joke about how Jessica can make a weighing scale go haywire.
The comedian said a weighing scale would complain “One at a time, one at a time” if Jessica were to step on it.

Vice said if Jessica was a Boldstar then the scene should always be “GANG RAPE”.
The rapists would say, “Ipasok ang lechon (Bring in the roasted pig)!” the comedian said further, adding that Jessica would ask “Nasaan ang apple (Where is the apple)?”  

Everyone laughed including ABS president Charo Santos.

Reactions!

GMA Reporters also reacted to Vice’ Joke!

Arnold Clavio said “Papatulan ko na siya kasi pag di natin siya sinita. Hindi natin alam sino pa’ng isusunod niyang biktimahin, (I may not be able to stop myself if we don’t call him out. We don’t know who he will take on next),” in his morning show on GMA radio station DzBB.

twitterw

twitter4 twitter twitter2

 

This is Ms. Jessica’s statement:

“Rape is not a joke and should never be material for a comedy concert. I thank all those who shared my hurt and expressed their support but this should not be about me but about the rape victims who suffer tremendously from this terrible crime. The horrors they go through are unspeakable and should never be taken lightly, especially by way of a cruel joke.”

Yesterday (May 28, 2012) Vice apologized thru her/his show in ABS (Showtime)!

According to Vice, he/she called the big bosses of the network and he was later called to a meeting by ABS-CBN channel head Cory Vidanes. He/She was asked for his/her take on the issue and Vice said he/she did not need to explain or justify his/her joke to anybody.

He/She also said, many other personalities were also mentioned in his jokes like Kris Aquino, Boy Abunda, Kim Atienza, Gus Abelgas, Pia Hontiveros, Nancy Binay, Grace Poe and many more.

The management asked him/her again what he/she wanted to do, Vice said he/she wanted to apologize to Soho and he/she preferred to do it personally and privately.

He/She said he/she called up Soho and introduced himself/herself. Soho took the call but declined a follow-up chat.

When he/she asked if he/she could call her later, Soho reportedly said, “I don’t think so.”

“I felt she was still hurt and angry. She was not yet ready to forgive me so I was not able to say what I wanted to tell her… so it’s only now that I will make public my apology so that it may reach you,” Vice Ganda said in Filipino.

Vice also apologized to anyone who had been offended even as he/she insisted that those who saw his concert could not remember him making fun of rape there.

In response to the public apology made by comedian Vice Ganda on Wednesday regarding the “gang rape” joke he made at her expense, GMA News anchor Jessica Soho issued a statement.

“I acknowledge the public apology given by Vice Ganda, by way of his TV program.

I sincerely hope and pray that this was done with the purest intentions and determination to put this issue behind us.

Just to clarify certain points about my phone conversation with him – his call came without warning as his number was not programmed in my phone directory. I told him I wasn’t feeling well and I wasn’t sure I was ready to talk to him. But I clearly remember thanking him for his call.

As I’ve said, this is not about me, but about the issue of rape not being an appropriate subject matter for comedy. Rape transcends age, economic class, gender — and even one’s weight.

Once again, I thank everyone who gave their support.”

So many people reacted.. Here are some of the people’s reactions.

An apology that is not sincere. If you really want to apologize and you are really apologetic to what you have done then you don’t have to broadcast in public you’re conversation with the aggrieved person. Especially when the aggrieved person is still obviously mad at you. Of course the reaction will be negative. It’s as if saying that I already reached out but still you won’t accept my apology? (Dave Ryan)

1 2 3 4 5 6

Now here’s my take on this issue:

I know Vice is a comedian but he/she also should be responsible to her/his materials.  He/She earns a lot just by making fun of people. And those people don’t earn anything even if he/she uses them as material.  That’s why he/she should also be careful. Being funny should always be being mean to other people. I think that’s already a form f bullying.

What Vice did to Jessica is an act of bullying.  I think there is no difference to a famous mean child at school who call his/her fat classmates FAT and ugly classmates UGLY! That’s BULLYING!

This just goes to show that no matter how successful you are (like Jessica) you can still be bullied.  Bullying doesn’t end at school. It can go as far as the workplace, in the government and now showbiz.

Now its seems like FAME = POWER to BULLY! I hope not!

Vice may have his/her own struggles in life. He worked so hard to achieve what he has now.  But I think he should be more responsible.  I think at some point everything he has achieved has gotten inside his head.

I understand Vice that it is his/her job to make jokes but again you don’t need to be mean to other people just to be funny.  Real and pure talent in joking comes out naturally.  Did we ever hear DOLPHY made fun of other people just to make us laugh? NO! Right! That’s why he is the King of Comedy!!!

I also think it’s okay to make fun of yourself and of your friends coz’ they know you but with people you don’t personally know…. That’s a different thing! Those people may also have issues, struggles, problems that they have to face everyday! Then, you make fun of them! That’s RUDE.. very rude!!!

I am also glad that Vice made an apology and like what Jessica said I hope it is done with the purest intentions!

sources:

http://www.freenewspos.com

http://www.philstar.com

http://mypinoymediaph.blogspot.com

http://www.gmanetwork.com

http://entertainment.inquirer.net

http://www.pep.ph/

4 thoughts on “Vice Ganda vs Jessica Soho

  1. Im not happy the way he ferfiorm sny of the show he is in kadi sobrang takaw sa attention ,kahit hinde nya turn he interup the show by kerp talking and none sense also , aksm mo ng bakla yang animal na yan sobra pang magladlad in public

    • Its not nice to make fun people ,also very ,Jessica Soho is very very nice person im a TFC member i watch her good story .

Leave a Reply

